The Adventures of Fuzzy and Boomer on Friday — March

Finally, Fuzzy and I, Mom and Dad have made it through the mud days of March.  March is spring for us here in Western Colorado…..well, at least our part of Western Colorado.

March is also the time of mud, wind, and little green shoots of weeds and such.

March is still cold. There isn’t much anyone can do about it.  Fuzzy and I are still wearing our heavy outside fur, and Mom and Dad are still in their carharts and sometime mud shoes.

But the bulk of the calves

and the lambs have been born and the best of all……the days are growing longer and longer!

Winter’s darkness (which squishes you at both ends of the each and every day) is gone!  Gone until sometime next year!  GONE!

Fuzz and I love it!

Around here everyone is glad to see March arrive.  It’s the time when all the farming starts, and well….that’s what we are about.  Stirring the soil, having the seeds delivered, fertilizing the ground, getting everything ready to plant.

Dad has started ‘opening the ground’, which means he is doing tractor work, which means there is always some little grandchild that likes to ride with Grandpa, up and down, up and down.  They do get bored after about three rounds, but they still want to be up high on the tractor with Grandpa.

I love helping Dad…we go out and do shovel work together.

Fuzzy would like to go, but he has trouble doing too much.  We do lots of chasing of things around the yard, but he really can’t walk much past the haystack area.

I love Fuzzy.  I only go with Dad if he invites me, because I worry that Fuzz will be disappointed he can’t go.

Anyway spring is here, folks!  And Fuzz and I are happy dogs!

Boomer