Getting Closer to Starting Water

Terry finished rolling late Monday evening

(Rolling is where you smash the plowed clumps down into soft manageable soil)

After the fertilizer was spread he covered it up by marking out the water furrows

(That’s the combine herd…and a couple of old cars which really needs to be hauled away…. Someday, I’m told, we will get to it.)

Straight rows are a must.  Other farmers drive by and always (I do mean always) make a comment on if your rows are straight or not.

With today’s tractors the GPS does all the work, therefore the rows are perfect.  We have no such tractor…Terry relies on scribes (marker bars), getting started right, and driving straight.  Otherwise, he has to take a ‘ribbing’ until the rows grow shut.

Today we (this is where I start helping him with the farming) work on setting up the gated pipe, making transmission ditches and waste ditches, it won’t be long now until we start water.  In fact any day now.

Getting closer—–

Linda

15 thoughts on “Getting Closer to Starting Water

  1. LOLOL Having grown up on a farm (cotton, soybeans, corn, wheat, rye grass, etc.) I know exactly what you mean about checking a field’s rows to see how straight the farmer got them. I still do! LOLOL My brother says that you could “shoot an arrow down his rows and hit the target on the other end!”

    Like

  2. Have you any of Patricia Penton Leimbach’s books? She wrote wonderful essays about farm life and some of the most entertaining were about lining out straight rows.

    Like

  3. After my dad retired from selling John Deere equipment, he and mother would drive out in the country on Sunday afternoons and he would check the crops. Mother called it his “weekend farming”. I think he also checked the equipment he had sold to the farmers, most of whom were lifelong friends. I enjoyed your post today, as usual!!

    Like

  4. I must show john this post, one of those old cars looks like one he has!! Or maybe I had better not show him! I love straight rows. johns are not straight.. c

    Like

  5. Looks great…
    I never knew modern tractors have GPS…wow
    we are back to sun after the snow (o: Things look greener (o:

    Like

  6. I heard that farmers who are really good at plowing make their rows perpendicular to the road so everyone can see… and farmers who aren’t so confident, make their rows parallel to the road!

    Like

  7. Since I’m a rebel I always liked to see lines that were irregular. They made interesting patterns and and got bigger as they moved across the field. Yes I know that farmers pride themselves with straight lines.

    Like

  8. Doesn’t every farm had a herd of invalid implements? Looks like your dealing with those spring winds too. At least there’s a cab on that tractor to keep the grit out of the teeth. All that tractor time has got to mean some dollars being burned up in high priced fuel. My condolences.

    Like

  9. BTW I have three of Pat Leimbach’s books. She used a verse of one of my poems in “Harvest of Bittersweet”. She even stopped by to visit when she came through on business.

    Like

  10. There’s a little bit of hidden farmer within us and we never get tired of looking when we’re traveling around the country. Bill has some ag. background from his youth, but I don’t and I really appreciate this look at what’s involved … your beautiful pictures make learning fun. Thanks.

    Like

  11. Love the pictures and the explanations.
    The rows look plenty straight to me. Guess that shows I’m not a farmer. ;o)

    Have a great weekend and a happy Blessed Easter. ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

