January 30, 2013

Today is my volunteer day at the Delta County Historical Society and Museum. ( I do the blog from home and other research from home, but today I go in to help.)

I’m entering a year’s worth of Obituaries in the data base for future reference. Last Wednesday was really interesting, while I was there a gentleman came in wanting to know something about a relative who ‘supposedly’ lived in Delta in 1902.

The curator gave me the task of helping solve this little mystery, which was very easy to do through the census.  On-line we also found a couple of people who are related to the same person, but the coolest part of all…….

The elusive man on the census had several borders-people who were renting rooms from him at the time of the census.  Mr. Wetzel, the curator, knew immediately where the man’s business was located — it wasn’t the El-Dina, a boarding house still in use today, but none other than the Delta House!   Delta’s First Hotel!  (I will post some photos tomorrow on both blogs.)

The relative was the second owner of the Delta House.

It’s little victories like this that make history, research, and helping others out ever so much fun.

Storm-coming-in

My 4 O’clock photos show that for a small amount of time we had clearing skies and shafts of sunshine then the next storm rolled in out of Utah.

More-storm

It’s snowing all around us today, but NO WIND!  I can handle cold (it is 10* right now) if the wind isn’t blowing.

Almost to February the count down is completing!

Linda

18 thoughts on “January 30, 2013

  1. Hooray! I never thought of going to a historical society to hunt down a relative., I may do that someday. Your cloud pictures make me cold! Something about them looks freezey to me. Just beautiful.

    Like

  2. Hi Linda, I’d love a job in the historical museum–since I love digging for information and finding out about people in the past… That kind of detail work is for ME…. You are such a huge help when you are there, I’m sure… That’s special.

    We had a front go through here about 4 a.m. and it’s still raining. However, we had nothing severe even though there was a tornado near Nashville (west of us)… The temperature is dropping quickly –and it will really get cold tonight and tomorrow. Back to winter!!!!

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    Like

  3. THAT is why I enjoy doing the genealogy. Sometimes you just have to look at other parts of a census and find the most interesting stuff about those around your ancestors. I found that a number of my relatives married people that were indeed next door neighbors to them!

    Like

  4. It’s wonderful that you were able to help the man who came into the museum. That really makes volunteering so satisfying. I’m glad you got a break from the wind. We’ve had rain all day, but it is supposed to turn cold again tonight.

    Like

  5. I am like you.. i can handle just about anything if the wind is not blowing.. and it is blowing fit to take your whole face off tonight.. your work reminds me of work i did in a graveyard once.. taking all the old files and entering all the dates and details into the computer.. i found the most amazing stuff in those old paper files.. you must love that job! I would.. c

    Like

  6. Research like you’re doing is addictive. You find something like you found today and it’s a big high. I hope you get lots of snow. It’s not going to last long now…not like ours.

    Like

  7. That’s such a wonderful thing you do for your County — both the posts from home and going in to volunteer…and yes, this experience must have made it seem well worthwhile! Loved the picture of the old hotel in the post above as well.

    Stay warm and dry!

    Like

  8. You are one of those wonderful people who volunteer and make a difference in your community! Both at the Museum and at the Humane Society..way to go!
    I like it when the pieces come together..it makes a person feel real good:)

    Like

  9. What a great discovery! I love finding out things about our history. I think that was one of the things that drew us together, you and me, in the beginning was our love of history and research! I am interested in so many things, and used to research Virginia history a lot, as well of course as my own family genealogy. Alabama too. Now that I am in AZ I have moved some of my reading to more western themes, though I am still working on genealogy (and none of my family came out this way) But I love Native American history, and well so many things. It would be fun to help research your own area. By the way, LOVE the two photos as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

