The Adventures of Fuzzy and Boomer on Friday — The Middle of Summer

Summer is half-over!!! That’s what Mom told Fuzzy and I as we laid panting and panting under the car last night!

“Hang on, Boy! The heat will break-up soon as we get closer to the middle of July! Then, hopefully, we should have rain!”

“NO!” shouted Fuzzy and jumped up and moved under the pick-up.

“WHY NOT!” I yelled at him as he hobbled away!

“THUNDER IS COMING!!! We never have rain in the summer WITHOUT thunder!” shudder, shudder!

“Gosh, Fuzz, a little thunder never hurt anyone.” I said to him in a puzzled voice.
Last-for-the-year

Dad finished up the last cultivation of the year…the pinto beans are starting to shoot feelers. Once the feelers grow the rows shut then the pinto bean plants will start setting seeds.

Set-and-cultivating
Until then…we go with Mom to cut the volunteer corn out of the field. This corn is from seeds dropped last year as Dad harvested, they start growing and will make a mess at pinto bean harvest.

Help
Not from being too big to go through the combine but because the pinto beans and the corn kernels are close to the same size. You can’t have corn in the pinto bean at the beanery because you can’t clean them out. Same thing for Cockle burs!

Goats-3
So we head up with Mom as she cuts cockle burs and corn. Every night, just about sunset we ‘weed’ several rows…the cockle burs she throws away, but the CORN! The corn gets to go into a pile and go with us to feed the GOATS!!!

Goats-2

Fuzzy usually stays on the four-wheeler waiting for Mom. Or he lays in the shade by the four-wheeler.

Now ME!!!

I jump off the second the key turns off and head out for news. I have to really keep an eye on Mom while I do this because she will LEAVE ME!

Oh, yes, I know she will call and call and if I don’t get there in time she goes.

Goats-1
I’ve missed getting to go to Misty’s a couple of times (that is where the goats live).  Since I’m not sure where Mom really went I have to run home and wait for her.

I REALLY DO NOT LIKE WAITING FOR HER!!!

I really do like ‘going’ so I pretty much try (I really do try-honest I do) to keep an eye out or an ear up so I’m not LEFT BEHIND!

Tips-of-corn
Oh, I just about forgot — the corn is starting to shoot tassels!

Corn-and-sun
I guess Mom is right…we ARE in the middle of summer!
Boomer

17 thoughts on “The Adventures of Fuzzy and Boomer on Friday — The Middle of Summer

  1. Hey Guys! It does get hot! But I go with Mom and then I get to play in the ditch or the river and that’s really good!
    Guys, don’t say anything to your mom, but I think she forgot to get Fuz his summer hair cut. You might get through the whole summer,Fuzzy!
    Mom is still working in the hay fields. Yesterday she got the baler plugged up. I was a long way away, protecting the 4-wheeler. But when I didn’t hear the tractor going around and around I went to check on Mom. She was under the baler pulling grass out. It looked pretty hot so I went and got really wet and then went back to Mom and surprised her with a shower! She didn’t know I was there until I shook water off. It was pretty funny!
    You guys stay cool!

    Like

  2. Looks to me like you live in paradise…I love how the light shifts throughout the day…in some of the images you can just feel the baking heat, and then, it begins to cool off…delicious.

    Like

  3. It’s hard to believe the corn has tassels already, but I guess it really is the middle of summer. Doesn’t seem possible that summer goes so fast.

    Like

  4. What great photos. So pretty there. Love the colors . Sounds like Boomer and Fuzzy have it “made in the shade” there! :) So much adventure.
    Have a perfect day!

    Like

  5. I like the corn photo too! Tasseling out already..not so much here but it is growing. Hot and Humid and miserable here..one more week and summer is half over and so is my work at the museum! Thanks for the updates Boomer..those are some lucky goats:)

    Like

  6. Here I was thinking, “Too bad that’s not sweet corn – maybe Linda will use it for fall decorations…” Shoulda’ known someone would eat it :D
    Poor Fuzzy – you wouldn’t like it up here this week…we’ve had lots of thunder. Even when you’re as deaf as Sweet Cleo, you can still *feel* it…

    Like

  7. You guys are lucky. It won’t ‘cool’ here for another month or two at least!
    I think we need some goats, too. We would have a lot of stuff to feed them.
    Thanks for all your hard work, all of you! Have a wonderful weekend! ♥

    Like

  8. Boomer, I’m surprised you don’t want to stay nearer to mom and Fuzzy and especially the goats. I guess your breeding takes you on the run for ‘news’ as you say.
    Hey, ask mom to explain a bit more about the beans and their runners. Is dad making sure the runners don’t close up the rows with his tractor or is mom just explaining that the runners mean the beans are setting seed??

    Like

  9. Boomer, your crops really look good. Somebody has done an awful lot of work to make the crops grow like this. Volunteer corn as a problem with pinto beans! It makes sense to me.

    Like

  10. Hi, Boomer,

    You and Fuzzy sure are keeping busy on the farm these days, but I know Mom appreciates all your help. The crops are looking good. It’s nice of you to try to comfort Fuzzy about the thunder. I really do think you would both be more comfortable if some showers were to cool things off. Keep an eye — and ear — on Mom so you don’t get left behind any more.

    Like

  11. I loved your photos this week! Thank your mom for them, especially the goats. And I learned a lot about the important work you help with. I’m scared of thunder too.

    Like

  12. Hi Boomer, That’s nice of you to comfort Fuzzy when it comes to the thunder… I’m sure that Fuzzy appreciates your comfort…. The crops are all looking great –but you need to be careful not to get ‘left behind’…. I’m sure that is scary to you… Just keep your eyes on MOM.

    Hugs,
    Betsy

    Like

  13. Beautiful farm. Your photos tell the story so well. Even though Fuzzy doesn’t like the thunder I hope you get some well-timed rain to mellow out your heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

