A Whirlwind Weekend

What a weekend….Friday we took off for Buena Vista…we had an appointment there that had been made weeks in advance—

thinking we would take a short cut back home (and a different route) we thought we would go over Independence Pass into Aspen.

Let me tell you right here and now…never ever EVER go over Independence pass in the fall or the spring…they close it in the winter

 

The bottom of the pass says “If you are longer than so many feet do not attempt this pass”

I guess some people just can’t read.

This kind of driving is NOT FOR ME

 

The drive was beautiful snowwise, but not drivingwise, and I’m sure Aspen loved the snow.

For me…I was glad to get to DRY ground.

The next day we had to head off again!

Linda

 

 

19 thoughts on “A Whirlwind Weekend

  1. Beautiful photos, Linda… Glad you made it home safe and sound. As much as I love snow, I do NOT enjoy driving in it… Scares me to death!!!! BUT–give me a cabin up there –and let it snow -let it snow-let it snow….. ha
    Hugs,
    Betsy

    Like this

  2. My God, you were high up as the sign states. Yep, some people can’t read, makes it annoying if
    you are stuck as a result of this type of incident as shown. Would be a very nice trip in the summer when the climate would be more co-operative.
    The big day here today – here’s hoping, 1, 2, 10 and 24. ha ha!
    Cheers
    Colin (Brisbane. Australia)

    Like this

  3. At least you had gorgeous scenery to distract from the terror of the road.

    Like this

  4. We took that pass one year on our way home from spending Thanksgiving with Brett’s daughter in Colorado. The usual route was closed due to a rock slide or something so we thought this road would be a good alternative. Wrong. Like you, we will never do that again in November.

    Like this

  5. Driving or riding on a snowy highway is just not good for anyone with an imagination. I have to go to Reno in a couple of weeks, sure hope it’s not through the snow. Stay safe.

    Like this

  6. I vividly remember that drive. Even in August it was a white-knuckle trip. But I am glad you shared those gorgeous photos even if you had to sweat a few bullets to get them. Happy (and safe)Trails!

    Like this

  7. good God, i am a complete baby when it comes to these kinds of conditions.. go home -stay home i call it! you are home safe now.. right?. c

    Like this

  8. Spent my life driving big rigs like that though in two Million miles + I never had my truck DO THAT lol
    OMG the passes are bad enough on a pretty clear day people back east who have never ventured from home never believe me when I speak of the west.

    Eunice

    PS
    Glad you made it back safely and WISER :)

    Like this

Leave a Reply

